The Unemployment Thread
  • Hey fellow Vampire Slayers

I'm currently unemployed but I have recently received two job offers and I would love some input from anyone who has had any experience with any of these jobs.

The first job offer was being a Tax Accountant at H&R Block, I have to take an exam learning how to use the Tax program and I need to score 80% and above. The pay is fairly good being $19/hr.

The second job offer is being a Sales Representative for Electrical company, not sure what the pay is but there are some really good employee benefits like private health insurance and an Employee Lifestyle, Health and Wellbeing Program. Not to sure what the pay is.

So which role would you pick in terms of experience?
  • I've had no experience with either, but I would go with the tax accountancy. This is because a Sales Rep. job is usually the art of deception, even if you don't believe it to be this, eventually someone in the company will push towards this.

Not so much with tax accountancy.
    fickbowt: "Wearing yesterday's pants - TOMORROW!"
  • I'd lean toward the sales job for the benefits. Find out what the pay is though. Pretty important
  • I would pick the role that would make it most likely to never have to ask this very same question ever again.
  • i personally would go with the electric company because of my interest in energy and how to move away from the old paradigm of burning through resources just to make money. ultimately a sales rep might never move into the field i would lean towards but yea... my personal interest lies more in what can be done with electricity than taxes.
    Post edited by Cetra at 2012-06-20 01:40:36
  • Apocaloptimist1
    I'm a Troll. Don't Feed Me.
    I would buy a cheap little rv, put some solar on it and travel, hopefully finding something that I really like to do that will pay me just enough to survive and have some fun.
    Anti-Profit Permaculture Campgrounds for Creative Minds!
    http://www.CampExist.org