What is a better alternative to our legal system?
  • me no know
  • orgoneorgone
    I'm a Troll. Don't Feed Me.
    Well... I'm not sure what country you're in, or what your problem is with your government. :P
    Love is what occurs when the universe recognizes itself for what it is.
    owlsa support waned RIP orgone
  • Do you have a specific problem with your current legal system? If so - what is it? Be as specific as possible (problems not described, cannot be met with solutions made to prevent such problems in the future).

The mode of the solution must meet the mode of the problem.
    Post edited by [Deleted User] at 2012-07-20 01:09:41
    fickbowt: "Wearing yesterday's pants - TOMORROW!"
  • I've been practicing law for a couple years now (in the US and Brazil) and it's a good question. I'm not entirely sure what a better alternative would be to our system.

In my experience, I think a legal system can really only be as perfect as humans. Most of the imperfections in our system are merely a reflection in the imperfections in humans. For instance, the racism is mostly implicit. I'm not saying that it can't be improved, but it's a tough question.
  • megmeg
    Hrair
    I have family in law enforcement, have been one the "victim" side in molestation/rape/DV, have been breaking the law myself off and on since 13, had friends/family going through the system with multiple issues...

I agree COMPLETELY that it needs to be changed BADLY and it really serves NO ONE except whoever makes money off of it. The "how" and "to what" part of change is pretty fuzzy, though. There still needs to be a system of checks and balances, so to speak, to address unavoidable issues. But if we first changed to a resource based economy and quit playing monopoly to survive, a lot of the "legal" issues would solve themselves.