Center for Self-Optimization: Beginners Art Class
  • A place to express yourself, expose your doodles, and maybe learn how to make some art.

I am attempting to learn to draw.
    Here's a sketch I made while listening to the music episode of Professor Blastoff with Reggie Watts:
    Post edited by DrStrib at 2013-07-25 13:25:51
    I measured my waistline in planck lengths and now I feel awful.
    photo tmp_824317984_zps500a3873.jpeg
    I wanna be a hippie, but I forgot how to love.
  • Nice sketch bro! Looks like you already can draw! :D

P.S Thanks for the podcast suggestion
    Post edited by [Deleted User] at 2012-06-15 00:03:02
    fickbowt: "Wearing yesterday's pants - TOMORROW!"
  • @fickbowt thanks man! But I am certainly just learning, I've never drawn before. My friend made these recycled sketchbooks out of old sketchpads and other books, so I started drawing.

Here's a couple 'o pages I doodled at the beach the other day:
  • I started very conventionally, drawing cubes and cylinders and bottles n whatnot. It really helps to reduce the number of things you're working on - like shadows, or contour lines, etc.

The first obstacle in my mind I worked out was discovering that lines don't actually exist in the natural world. A person's face has no lines, but it does have contours, which is only the meeting place between to separate shades and hues.

(not my drawing, this drawing has lines)

It took a little scene like this (+ a cylinder) for me to put my pencil down, grease up my fingers, and draw exclusively with shades.

Hope it helps :D
    Post edited by Clarion at 2012-06-21 16:39:41
    We take for granted things around / are child's play all the way down.
    | my shit | more |
  • Looks like your off to a decent start. I would recommend these two places for some learning/inspiration.

http://www.ctrlpaint.com/
    http://conceptart.org/forums/